A piece of heart and mind

9th May 2018.

It was the day, Malaysians decide on our future. It was my first time voted for the leaders of my country. I used to think that I didn’t care about politics. I’d lose hope towards my own government. I always thought that my vote didn’t matter. How can one person change the world?

I was wrong. It is all about unity. I am very proud that in this GE14, Malaysians have came together to choose our leader. I am very proud to see so many inked fingers. I am touched when I saw cars on the road, going back to their place to fulfill their responsibility. I am very proud that Malaysians were very collected despite so many rumors and controversies post-election. I have never been this proud to tell the world that I am a Malaysian, and this is my country. We have changed, people have voiced out, and our says, matter!

To My dear self, remember that your vote always matters. Remember that you were part of this change. You were part of the remarkable history. You witnessed this and always have this in mind, and keep it in your heart, forever.

Dear Tun Mahathir, thank you. We know that at your age, you should be resting and spending quality time with your family. But you decided to step up and steer the sinking sheep. To the leaders and members of Pakatan Harapan, thank you for not giving up and for the years you have worked to let this happen.

Dear Malaysians, let this be the change that we all hoped for. Let this be the moment we change our mentality, improve our productivity. Let this be the moment we change for the better. and THANK YOU, for all the prayers, and for taking action, TOGETHER.

Love, Hana

Leave a comment